Board of Directors

Dave Barger, President

Dave Barger has been a resident of Falls Village for almost 40 years and has two daughters who attended the Lee H. Kellogg School and Housatonic Valley Regional High School. He served the State of Connecticut as member of the Connecticut State Police for 24 years, retiring as a Master Sergeant in 2000. Dave then went on to a position as Deputy Chief and then Chief of the Department of Public Safety at Quinnipiac University in Hamden, from which he retired in 2015 after 15 years of service. Dave is currently serving in his first term as a member of the Canaan Board of Selectmen. He holds a degree in Criminal Justice Administration from SUNY Ulster.

Bonnie Bellow, Vice President

After retiring from the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency where she served as Public Affairs Director in the New York regional office, Bonnie now supports non-profit organizations as a communications consultant. She previously served as Communications Director at the NYC Department of Environmental Protection, managed her own media production company assisting non-profits and was the Associate Producer of Rosie the Riveter, the Academy Award nominated documentary about women in the workplace during World War II.  Bonnie, whose roots are in New York City, has had a second home in Sharon for more than 26 years.

Sarah Weihman, Secretary

Adam Higgins, Treasurer

Adam is a Vice President and  Commercial Loan Officer for Salisbury Bank & Trust. He joined Salisbury Bank in 2007 and has held positions in the Trust Operations and Commercial Credit Departments. He volunteers his time reading to elementary school children in the Everybody Wins program at the Sharon Center School. He is a member of the Canaan Exchange Club and also serves as board member and treasurer for HYSB. A graduate of Bryant University, Adam holds a Bachelor of Science Degree in Finance.

Nancy Bird

Nancy has lived in Northwest Connecticut for over 30 years and spent the majority of her career working at The Hotchkiss School as both an administrator and teacher. She was a founding member of the Independent School Gender Project. Her volunteer work expands across many area agencies, including the Sharon Board of Education, Sharon Day Care Board and The Arts Fund for Region One Board, which she chaired. Nancy served as chair of HYSB’s successful capital campaign and is currently the HYSB Board President. She is also an active volunteer for The Hotchkiss Library in Sharon.

Devereux Chatillon

Dev is a partner at the boutique law firm of Chatillon Weiss PLLC, where she advises companies and individuals on legal issues surrounding digital and traditional media. Before Chatillon Weiss, Dev worked at Scholastic, Inc. as Senior Vice President, Corporate Secretary and General Counsel; The New Yorker as Vice President & General Counsel; and ABC as Senior General Attorney. Educated at New York University (JD, Law), where she served on the NYU Law Review, and Harvard University (AB, American History), Dev splits her time between New York City and Sharon, CT. In addition to serving on several non-profit boards, she is an Adjunct Instructor in the Masters Program in Publishing at the NYU School of Professional Studies.

Ron Dower

Raised in North Canaan, Ron graduated from Housatonic Valley Regional High School in 1960. After college at Holy Cross, a year with Catholic Extension Volunteers, graduate school at Boston College and serving in the United States Navy, he returned home to teach social studies, coach and eventually serve as a guidance counselor at his alma mater. Ron has been privileged to serve this community with many caring people on the HYSB board, the Canaan Foundation board, the Northwest Y trustees board, the Arboretum and Landscape Committee at the high school and various ministries with his church.

Lorraine Faison

Lorraine began her career as a middle and high school English teacher in public schools. After receiving a Master’s degree in Library and Information Science, she was an independent school library director in Massachusetts, Connecticut and New York City and then a public library director in Connecticut, most recently at The Hotchkiss Library in Sharon. Throughout her career, she has enjoyed working with young people. Both schools and public libraries have provided opportunities to engage children and teens in programs that enrich and inform.

Hugh Hill

Hugh believes that good health is a human right and good health requires great health insurance. The field of insurance is a second career for him and, fortunately, less than two years after he decided to concentrate on health insurance – pre-65 and Medicare – ObamaCare was introduced into the American landscape. Hugh loves finding the best affordable care to meet people's needs and has strived to become an expert in the field. Hugh was born in St. Louis, Missouri, attended Dartmouth College and Columbia University, lived in Boston and New York City, and moved to Kent 28 years ago. Over the years, he has belonged to various boards in the arts and music, and is presently on the board of Sharon Hospital in Sharon.

Matt Andrulis Mette

Matt has served on the HYSB board since 1999 when he accepted the Director of Recreation and Youth job for the town of Sharon. As the now current Director of Parks and Recreation for the town of Sharon, Matt oversees recreational programming for residents of all ages. The town has several recreational facilities under the director’s supervision. Matt works closely with all the regional towns in coordinating programs and services for all of our area residents.

Steve Schibi

Rae Schwarz

Linda Sloane

Linda recently retired from the Lee Kellogg School in Falls Village, her most recent job as part of a long-time teaching career. During her time at Kellogg, she helped co-create and teach an innovative K, 1, 2 multi-age classroom. She also served as a school psychologist in Region 1 for several years and as a part-time child and family counselor at the Housatonic Center for Mental Health. She currently is the part-time Program Director for SOAR Enrichment in Salisbury and does part-time educational consulting work.


Directors Emeriti

Lance Beizer

Val Bernadoni

Martha Bruehl

Elizabeth (BJ) Christinat

Ruth Epstein

Jill Gibbons

Lisa Harmon

Diane Johnstone

Bonnie Kinsman

Paul Ramunni

Rev. Richard Tabor*

Jeanne Wardell

Roberta Willis